loader image
Trending News
HomeTechLunar eclipse 2021 LIVE: Blood Moon and total eclipse happening NOW – latest updates and how to see it

Lunar eclipse 2021 LIVE: Blood Moon and total eclipse happening NOW – latest updates and how to see it

Lunar eclipse 2021 LIVE: Blood Moon and total eclipse happening NOW – latest updates and how to see it

A SUPER Blood Moon is lighting up the night sky NOW and is visible from across the US.

May’s Full Moon will be known as a Blood Moon because it will go into a total lunar eclipse and look reddish from certain locations.

The total lunar eclipse will be visible from certain parts of the world including numerous US states, Australia, western South America and Southeast Asia.

Unfortunately, it won’t be visible from the UK but stargazing fans will be able to watch it over a live-stream on May 26.

Time and Date will be live-streaming the event on YouTube on Wednesday at 5:30am ET (10:30am BST).

You’ll probably spot some other space channels doing similar things.

The Moon will be at its fullest at 7:14am EDT (12:14pm BST) on May 26.

It’s also nicknamed the Flower Moon as that’s the traditional name for May’s Full Moon due to it’s appearance around spring.

Not only is it nicknamed a Flower Moon and a Blood Moon but it will also be a Supermoon.

It’s going to be the closest Supermoon of the year so you’ll be able to spot it looking large on the evenings of May 25 and 26.

A total lunar eclipse doesn’t mean the Moon disappears completely but it does mean the Moon turns a slightly reddish-orange colour.

This is expected to last for 14 minutes and 30 seconds for some viewers on May 26.

Read our lunar eclipse live blog below for the very latest news and updates…

,

Share: