How to delete and unsend WhatsApp messages – and why can’t I ‘delete for everyone’?
IF you ever find yourself regretting a message you’ve sent on WhatsApp, the messaging app has a handy feature to save your bacon.
You can actually delete a sent messages for a limited time, even if it’s a group chat – allowing you to unsend a text that may get you in trouble.
There’s a really easy way to unsend messages on WhatsApp[/caption]
“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you’ve sent to an individual or group chat,” WhatsApp said.
“This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.”
How to delete WhatsApp messages
To delete or “unsend” a WhatsApp message on mobile, simply head to the chat window, hold down on the text you wish to remove and tap “delete”.
The message will no longer appear in the chat, replaced by an alert that reads: “This message was deleted”.
On mobile, hold down on a WhatsApp message to delete it[/caption]
The process is permanent, meaning you can’t retrieve a text after deleting it.
It’s also worth noting that the message is only deleted if the recipient hasn’t read it.
If they have, deleting the message only wipes it from your chat screen, while it remains on your recipient’s.
You can also delete messages via WhatsApp’s web client.
Hover over a message and hit the down arrow that appears to the right of the text. Click “delete” to wipe it from existence.
How to ‘delete for everyone’ on WhatsApp
In a group chat hold down on a message and hit ‘delete for everyone’ to remove it[/caption]
Deleted messages are replaced with this alert[/caption]
In a group chat with more than two people, you can choose to delete a message for every member of the chat.
On mobile, simply hold down on the text you wish to delete and tap “delete for everyone”.
On your PC, hover over a message and hit the down arrow that appears to the right of the text. Click “delete for everyone”.
The option is only available for an hour after you send the message, so you’ll have to be quick.
Keep in mind that recipients might see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion wasn’t successful.
You won’t be notified if deleting for everyone wasn’t successful.
WhatsApp – a quick history
Here’s what you need to know…
- WhatsApp was created in 2009 by computer programmers Brian Acton and Jan Koum – former employees of Yahoo
- It’s one of the most popular messaging services in the world
- Koum came up with the name WhatsApp because it sounded like “what’s up”
- After a number of tweaks the app was released with a messaging component in June 2009, with 250,000 active users
- It was originally free but switched to a paid service to avoid growing too fast. Then in 2016, it became free again for all users
- Facebook bought WhatsApp Inc in February 2014 for $19.3billion (£14.64bn)
- The app is particularly popular because all messages are encrypted during transit, shutting out snoopers
- As of 2020, WhatsApp has over 2billion users globally
Most read in Phones & Gadgets
In other news, we reveal the new WhatsApp features that could come out in 2020
You can sign up to the beta version of WhatsApp to get all of the latest features before the general public.
Find out how to read deleted WhatsApp messages on your phone.
And, this secret trick lets you change your WhatsApp font to confuse your mates.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at email@example.com